How to Follow a Gluten-Free Diet?

Don’t get stressed out!

It will take some time to transition to a gluten-free diet, but it isn’t a death sentence if you enjoy bread, spaghetti, and other foods.

It is now feasible to maintain a gluten-free diet while still enjoying many of your favorite meals, thanks to the abundance of Gluten-free products and recipes available. It just needs more effort and consideration.

What to Eat?

To begin, keep in mind that in their natural state, all fruits, vegetables, legumes, nuts and seeds, oils, meat, fish, eggs, poultry, and dairy products are Gluten-free products.

These foods, however, may not be safe to eat if they have been treated with additives, tastes, or other chemicals. In a moment, we’ll go over it. With the exception of wheat, barley, and rye, most grains are gluten-free.

On a gluten-free diet, the following grains and starches are allowed:

  1. Corn
  2. Buckwheat
  3. Arrowroot
  4. Rice
  5. Potatoes
  6. Millet
  7. Sago Flour
  8. Wild Rice
  9. Tapioca
  10. Sorghum
  11. Teff

A note about oats: they’re inherently come in gluten-free products and a good source of vitamins, minerals, and fiber that a gluten-free diet may lack. They are, however, frequently farmed, processed, or kept in close proximity to wheat or wheat-based goods.

Look for a gluten-free label on oats if you do decide to buy them.

What You Should Avoid Eating?

Not all foods contain gluten in the same way. Depending on how they’ve been prepared, several components and meals may or may not contain gluten.

It’s recommended to stay away from these items unless you can be sure they don’t contain gluten or aren’t made from gluten-containing grains:

  1. Rice Malt
  2. Seasonings
  3. Soy Sauce
  4. Modified Food Starch
  5. Malt Vinegar
  6. Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP), hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP), or textured vegetable protein (TVP)
  7. Brown Rice Syrup
  8. Flour or Cereal Products

Gluten May Be Found in Unexpected Places

While many gluten-free products have labels that scream “Full of gluten!” you won’t find gluten-free products with labels that say “Full of gluten!”

You’ll have to get in the habit of carefully reading food labels and examining each ingredient.

Be extra cautious of goods that may contain gluten in unexpected places, such as:

  1. Communion Wafers
  2. Breading
  3. Energy Bars
  4. Ice Cream/Gelato
  5. Imitation Seafood
  6. Drugs/Medications
  7. Salad Dressings
  8. Brewer’s Yeast
  9. Broth
  10. Brown Rice Syrup
  11. Nutritional Supplements
  12. Veggie Burgers
  13. Sauces and Gravies
  14. Roux
  15. Processed Meats
  16. Marinades

Shopping for Gluten-Free Foods

Gluten-free packaged and convenience foods are available at most major and regional supermarkets.

They’re sometimes in a separate aisle or area, although they’re most typically seen on the shelf with other goods. If you live near a health food shop, you’ll find a wide range of gluten-free products.

According to FDA safety regulations, any packaged product promoted as “gluten-free,” “without gluten,” “free of gluten,” or “no gluten” must have less than 20 parts per millions of gluten – the lowest detectable quantity in foods.

Regardless of the claims stated on the package, it’s a good idea to get in the habit of verifying every product’s ingredient list. (Be wary of anything labeled “wheat-free”; this isn’t the same as gluten-free!)

Also, don’t be hesitant to inquire about gluten-free products with store management or employees.

Gluten-free processed goods, such as gluten-free bread and pastries, can still be heavy in fat, sugar, salt, and fiber.

To make the healthiest grocery shop decisions, follow these guidelines:

Fruits, vegetables, meat, fish, poultry, and dairy items are generally found around the store’s perimeter. Instead of white rice or corn flour, choose packaged gluten-free items produced from whole grains like brown rice or quinoa.

Make sure the first ingredient on the list is a gluten-free whole grain among your gluten-free products because it will be the most prevalent in the product.

Load up your gluten-free foods including pizza or pasta meals with veggies and lean protein. Gluten-free frozen meals should be avoided because, like other frozen meals, they might be high in salt.

Gluten-free snacks and sweets should be reserved for special occasions.

Tips for Dining Out While On a Gluten-Free Diet

It’s better to be cautious than sorry when it comes to gluten contamination.

To begin, call the restaurant to verify whether they can safely cook your dish without gluten and without danger of cross-contamination.

Make sure your server understands that croutons are not allowed to touch your salad. Ask your server about the components in salad dressings that use flour as a thickening. Flour is frequently used to thicken soups. Inquire with your server.

Choose grilled meats over fried meats, and inquire about the meat’s marinade.

Unless the restaurant has a separate fryer dedicated to gluten-free dishes, avoid anything fried (such as French fries, onion rings, or tortilla chips).

If you have a hard time following a gluten-free diet, find someone who can help guide you. Dietitians can offer advice on healthy food options or Dr.Schar’s gluten-free products, develop meal plans, and make sure your nutritional needs are met.